University of Iowa: Civil War Diaries Transcription Project

While scrolling through my twitter feed (@k_bubbs), I found this link to a transcription project taking place at the University of Iowa.

http://digital.lib.uiowa.edu/cwd/transcripts.html

As someone who has transcribed quite a lot of letters either from the Civil War period or the colonial period, I think this is a brilliant idea.  U. of Iowa is using the power of “the crowd.”

As I took a look at the website, I instantly thought of Steve Bailey’s book Managing the Crowd: Rethinking Records Management for the Web 2.0 World.  I know, some of you are thinking that these two professions: archives and records management are seemingly unrelated.  As part of my Information and Records Management class, I read Bailey’s book.  It’s a wonderful book for understanding the new world in which we live, the world of Web 2.0 and social media.

One of the major points of the book is that because of social media, as a profession we should develop methods of having users help us in the management or administration of records or historic documents.  It’s a pretty good read.  Although I do have some minor problems with it, I think any archivist or records manager should take a gander.

Anyhow, back to the topic at hand.  As I perused the site, I wondered what type of response the project is getting.  I’d love to take a look at the Google Analytics on website activity.  And, as a result, was the library or archives of U. of Iowa seeing a surge in activity in their reading room?

About Ashley S

I'm an archivist!
This entry was posted in Archives, History and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

