U.S. Students Remain Poor at History

As someone who loves history, the results of this study are disappointing.

Too much focus is on math and science now.  I think most people jumped to quickly on the math and science bandwagon…politicians in particular.  I think it had more to do with the fact that we were behind other countries because, as Americans, we like to think we’re #1.

But, the liberal arts, helps students to think critically.  I know it sounds cliche and even I laughed when I first heard this in freshman orientation (even though I knew I was majoring in History at the time).  But it is true.  Coupled with being an archivist, I’m all about finding the information (or document) for myself and then forming an opinion.

It’s because of history, I can draw connections between events happening today and what’s happened in the past.

You have to know where you’ve been in order to know where you’re going.

About Ashley S

I'm an archivist!
This entry was posted in History and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

