Slave interpreter at Historic Brattonsville

Nicole Moore, a slave interpreter at Historic Brattonsville, talks about her work at Brattonsville and shares her experiences planting and harvesting cotton.

Interpeter talks about the lives of Brattonsville slaves

I have so much respect for her and what she’s doing.  Slavery isn’t something to be ashamed of because it is part of America’s history.  I took the opportunity, like Moore, to be a slave interpreter for a living history program called Imaginative Journeys by Dr. Annette Laing.

Let me tell you, it was an experience.

I’m the one on the left.  The expression on my face is part it’s hot and most old photos of slaves seldom show them smiling.  I thought I would be true to that idea.

About Ashley S

I'm an archivist!
This entry was posted in History and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slave interpreter at Historic Brattonsville

  1. Nicole Moore says:

    Thanks Ashley! I think I saw this post when you first put it up but not sure why I didn’t leave a comment!! Best to you!

Leave a Reply

