Archivist Rocking Out – OR – What’s on your Ipod?

I thought I would take a momentary break from my typical posts and do a fun post instead.  Inspired by a Twitter conversation with @ashleysayschirp, who I recommend you follow, I decided to list my favorite singles I love to listen to when working.  As an archivist, whether processing or somewhere knee deep in the stacks, it’s nice to have some tunes to listen to.  With the records move going on at my facility, twice a week, I’m spending hours in the stacks checking boxes, barcoding, and anything else that needs to be done to prep our records to be moved offsite.

The following list consists of a my all-time favorite singles.  They aren’t in any particular order.  Some have meaning to them while others just make me smile.  They range from fast-paced to slow, melancholy sound.  I hope all of my archivists, librarians, and general music enthusiast find this list interesting.  Don’t judge my music tastes too harshly.

Let me know what you like to hear by tweeting me (@k_bubbs).

  1. “Hometown Glory” – Adele
  2. “Rolling in the Deep” – Adele
  3. “Countdown” – Beyonce
  4. “I Was Here” – Beyonce
  5. “Run The World (Girls)” – Beyonce
  6. “Before He Cheats” – Carrie Underwood
  7. “Down In Mexico” – The Coasters
  8. “Paradise” – Coldplay
  9. “Princess of China” – Coldplay
  10. “Bottom of the River” – Delta Rae
  11. “All I Do Is Win” – DJ Khaled
  12. “Shake It Off” – Florence + The Machine
  13. “I’m Not Calling You A Liar” – Florence + The Machine
  14. “Some Nights” – Fun
  15. “Why Am I The One” – Fun
  16. “Takeover” – Jay-Z
  17. “A Milli” – Lil Wayne
  18. “Daydreamin'” – Lupe Fiasco feat. Jill Scott
  19. “Power” – Kanye West
  20. “E.T.” – Katy Perry
  21. “Telephone” – Lady Gaga feat. Beyonce
  22. “Moves like Jagger” – Maroon 5
  23. “The Way You Make Me Feel” – Michael Jackson
  24. “Awake My Soul” – Mumford & Sons
  25. “Try a Little Tenderness” – Otis Redding
  26. “Back In Time” – Pitbull
  27. “Somebody to Love” – Queen
  28. “Bohemian Rhapsody” – Queen
  29. “Otherside” – Red Hot Chilli Peppers
  30. “Superstition” – Stevie Wonder
  31. “Living For The City” – Stevie Wonder
  32. “Tribute” – Tenacious D
  33. “Seven Nation Army” – The White Stripes
  34. “Little Acorns” – The White Stripes
  35. “Whip My Hair” – Willow
  36. “Marry You” – Bruno Mars
  37. “Talking to the Moon” – Bruno Mars

 

About Ashley S

I'm an archivist!
This entry was posted in Archives, Entertainment, Fun Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

